<![CDATA[New footage confirms Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal, validates Sanju Samson’s catch]]> https://www.cricketwinner.com RSS for Node Mon, 22 Sep 2025 14:15:12 GMT https://www.cricketwinner.com/favicon.ico/ Cricket Winner https://cricketwinner.com/ 185 185 <![CDATA[New footage confirms Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal, validates Sanju Samson’s catch]]> https://www.cricketwinner.com/cricket-news/new-footage-confirms-fakhar-zaman-s-dismissal-validates-sanju-samson-s-catch/ https://www.cricketwinner.com/cricket-news/new-footage-confirms-fakhar-zaman-s-dismissal-validates-sanju-samson-s-catch/ Mon, 22 Sep 2025 16:33:44 GMT anusuya-basu Recent footage confirmed that Sanju Samson’s catch was clean
Recent footage confirmed that Sanju Samson’s catch was clean

The high-voltage India-Pakistan clash in the Asia Cup 2025 brought its share of drama, with a controversial dismissal coming as early as the third over. Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman was declared out after edging behind, a decision that left him visibly frustrated. On his way back to the pavilion, Fakhar showed his displeasure, and the debate immediately caught fire.

Several Pakistani experts came to his defense, arguing that the umpire had rushed into the decision and that the dismissal was questionable. The incident added to the intensity of the already heated rivalry, with many fans believing Fakhar had been hard done by. His visible dissent further fueled the controversy, keeping the moment in the spotlight.

However, fresh evidence later clarified the situation. Replays confirmed that India wicketkeeper Sanju Samson had taken a clean catch, validating the umpire’s call. The review put an end to the debate, proving Fakhar’s dismissal was indeed correct.

See Also: ‘I don't care about that….’- Pakistan’s Sahibzada Farhan opens up on gun gesture celebration against India

Fresh Evidence Clarifies the Situation of Fakhar Zaman’s Dismissal:

The moment unfolded on the third delivery of the third over after Pakistan was asked to bat first in the Super Four encounter at the Dubai International Stadium. Fakhar Zaman attempted an offside shot against Hardik Pandya’s off-cutter but managed only a faint edge. The ball carried low towards Sanju Samson, who dived and claimed the catch cleanly.

With the ball appearing very close to the ground, the on-field umpires chose to send the decision upstairs. The third umpire examined the footage from several angles before confirming the catch was legitimate. Fakhar was declared out, a call that left him stunned, and he walked back slowly to the dressing room, visibly disappointed with the outcome.

Former Pakistan greats Shoaib Akhtar and Misbah-ul-Haq openly questioned Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal. Akhtar challenged the ICC to release all 26 camera angles, while Misbah felt the umpire had been too quick in making his decision. Both argued the ball touched the ground before being collected.

However, newly shared footage on social media provided clarity. A zoomed-in angle confirmed that Sanju Samson’s gloves were firmly under the ball when it was taken, leaving no doubt about the legitimacy of the catch. The clip supported the third umpire’s judgment, silencing the debate and proving the dismissal was indeed fair and accurate.

Salman Ali Agha Challenges Umpire’s Controversial Call:

Earlier, Pakistan captain Salman Ali Agha raised concerns over Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal, questioning whether the catch was legitimate. He argued that the decision disrupted Pakistan’s early momentum, expressing his disagreement with the on-field call and highlighting the impact it had on the team’s start in the crucial Super Four match.

He said, “ I don't know about the decision. It's obviously the umpire's job. Umpires can make mistakes. And I have no problem with that. But it does look like it bounced before it was carried to the keeper.”

He added, “ But I might be wrong. I don't know. You can say the way he was batting, if he batted throughout the powerplay, we probably would have scored 190. But yeah, that's the umpire's call. And they can make mistakes. I don't know. To me, it bounced before it reached the keeper.”

]]>
U/A 13+