Marylebone Cricket Club https://www.cricketwinner.com Marylebone Cricket Club Sun, 12 Oct 2025 04:45:40 GMT https://validator.w3.org/feed/docs/rss2.html https://github.com/jpmonette/feed en Copyright © 2024 Cricket Winner. All Rights Reserved. <![CDATA[MCC breaks silence over Muneeba Ali’s run-out in IND vs PAK Women’s World Cup 2025 match]]> https://www.cricketwinner.com/cricket-news/mcc-breaks-silence-over-muneeba-ali-s-run-out-in-ind-vs-pak-women-s-world-cup-2025-match/ https://www.cricketwinner.com/cricket-news/mcc-breaks-silence-over-muneeba-ali-s-run-out-in-ind-vs-pak-women-s-world-cup-2025-match/ Tue, 07 Oct 2025 13:21:26 GMT

On Monday, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) confirmed that Pakistan’s Muneeba Ali was rightly given out during the India vs Pakistan Women’s World Cup 2025 match in Colombo. The incident occurred in the fourth over of Pakistan’s innings when India bowler Deepti Sharma’s delivery hit Muneeba on the pads, and India appealed for an LBW.

The on-field umpire initially said “not out,” but Deepti quickly threw the ball at the stumps while Muneeba was still standing outside her crease with her bat in the air. The third umpire reviewed the play and gave her out, a decision that caused significant debate among fans and players. Some people thought the ball was "dead" following the LBW appeal, which meant that the game had stopped.

The MCC later stated that because the umpire had called "not out" and the ball was still in motion, the ball remained "live", allowing the run out to stand.They also explained that the “bouncing bat law,” which protects batters who accidentally lift their bat while running, did not apply because Muneeba was not running or diving back to her crease. She was merely standing with her bat raised.

MCC Explains Rules Behind Controversial Run-Out

“There are a number of pieces of Law to consider here. The first, and simplest, is that just because there was a vociferous appeal for LBW, the ball had clearly not become Dead. The appeal had been answered Not Out, the ball was not finally settled in the hands of the wicket-keeper, and Deepti’s act alone is a demonstration that not all the players considered it Dead. The ball remains in play,” MCC wrote on its website. “She had taken guard from beyond the popping crease and at no time did her feet move back into her ground.”

See Also: 'He Is Unfit for Red-Ball Cricket' – Former India captain criticizes Shreyas Iyer for taking Red-Ball break

Pakistan’s players were unhappy with the decision, with captain Fatima Sana discussing it with the fourth umpire. Despite the controversy, India won the match comfortably by 88 runs, highlighted by strong performances from Harleen Deol (46 runs) and Richa Ghosh (35 off 20 balls). Kranti Gaud led the bowling attack, taking three wickets.

]]>
<![CDATA['Correct Decision in Law' - MCC breaks silence on Joe Root’s dismissal in ENG vs IND Test]]> https://www.cricketwinner.com/cricket-news/correct-decision-in-law-mcc-breaks-silence-on-joe-root-s-dismissal-in-eng-vs-ind-test/ https://www.cricketwinner.com/cricket-news/correct-decision-in-law-mcc-breaks-silence-on-joe-root-s-dismissal-in-eng-vs-ind-test/ Tue, 08 Jul 2025 12:27:33 GMT

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has commented on the controversy about Joe Root being dismissed during the second Test against India at Edgbaston. The dismissal divided opinion among fans and analysts, many of whom thought that the delivery from India pacer Akash Deep had been a no-ball. Observers pointed out that Deep’s back foot appeared to touch the return crease while delivering the ball that clean bowled Root.

However, the MCC has now clarified that the delivery was legal and upheld the on-field and third umpire’s decision.
In a statement, the MCC said, “On Day four of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep, which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no-ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law.”

The MCC explained the specifics of the law concerning back-foot no-balls.
“For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery,” the statement added. “MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time that is to be considered for a back foot no-ball."

Akash Deep's Dream Spell Ends Edgbaston Drought

The incident came during a historic match for India, as the team broke a 58-year winless streak at Edgbaston, leveling the five-Test series 1–1 with a thumping 336-run victory. In the absence of Jasprit Bumrah, it was debutant Akash Deep who took center stage with a total of 10 wickets in the Test match.

See Also: 'You've Got To Play Him' - Former England bowler urges inclusion of Jofra Archer for Lord's Test

The 28-year-old fast bowler from Sasaram, Bihar, also recorded his first five-wicket haul, including 6/99 in England's second innings while England were bowled out for 271, chasing an asking target of 608. His performance received major acclaim and was crucial to India's emphatic victory.

]]>